Rakuten Economy

Paying Your Phone Bill with Rakuten Points: Payment Methods That Don't Work, and Limits to Know

Pay your phone bill with points.

Sounds great.

But some people can’t.

The ones who chose bank transfer.

Sign up without knowing this and you’ll go “huh?” later. You will.

This article goes through the point payment conditions as far as they are written on Rakuten Mobile’s official page (the Saikyo Plan page).

Let me say up front that this site uses Rakuten Mobile referral links. I write the conditions at the same temperature, good or bad.


The 30-second version


Conditions written on the official page (facts)

Here are the official page’s footnotes, organized as they are.

ItemDetails
Bank transferIf you set bank transfer as your monthly payment method, you can’t use Rakuten Points
Amount usable at once1 to 30,000 points (up to 500,000 points for Diamond members)
Installment payment for a deviceIf you buy a product in installments, points can be used only for the first payment, not the second onward
Applying without a Rakuten IDPoints are not awarded and can’t be used

“Always 0 yen” only applies while points keep accumulating. In a month when points run short, you pay the shortfall another way. This is an explanation based on how such systems generally work, not something stated individually on the official page.


Bank transfer or point payment: it’s a choice

This is the most important part.

You can sign up with Rakuten Mobile without a credit card. I covered that it supports debit cards and bank transfer in another article.

However, if you choose bank transfer, you can’t use point payment.

Whether point payment is available when paying by debit card was not stated on the page I checked this time. Please confirm it in the official guidance before you sign up.


Watch the “Rakuten Mobile SPU” cap too

A Rakuten Mobile contract is part of the point multiplier (SPU) on Rakuten Ichiba. The official page’s footnotes say the following.

“The multiplier is high” and “there is a monthly cap” are separate things. Shop beyond the cap and nothing more gets added.

Also, limited-time points have an expiration date. I write about how to manage them in the article on rules for using up limited-time points.

Whether limited-time points can be used to pay the phone bill was not clear from the page I checked this time. Please confirm it in the official guidance.


The order to think it through

  1. Decide your payment method (credit card / debit card / bank transfer, etc.)
  2. If you want to use point payment, check whether it works with that payment method
  3. Create your Rakuten ID before applying (without an ID, points are neither awarded nor usable)
  4. For how to earn points, the article on how Rakuten Pay is used and the Rakuten Points usage guide are also worth a look

The better a points deal looks, the more conditions come with it. Reading the footnotes before you sign up is the best saving.


Summary

Source: the Rakuten Mobile official site (Saikyo Plan page). Content may change. Please check the latest official page before you sign up.

楽天モバイルを検討中の方へ

For Those Considering Rakuten Mobile (Decide Your Payment Method Before You Apply)

これは楽天グループの従業員向けに用意されている紹介リンクです。特典は一般の紹介より1,000ポイント多くなります。料金プランや契約の内容は通常の申し込みと同じです。特典の内容・条件は時期により変わるため、申し込み前にリンク先の公式ページでご確認ください。

紹介リンクから申し込む

楽天モバイル公式サイトが開きます

This article contains affiliate advertising. If you apply for a product or service through links on this site, we may receive compensation from partner companies. Additionally, the operator is an employee of Rakuten Group and may receive compensation through an employee referral program. Article content and evaluations are based on the operator's actual experience and research, regardless of advertising. For details, see the Disclaimer & Affiliate Disclosure. Disclaimer & Affiliate Disclosure

This article contains machine translation. For official terms, please refer to the multilingual pages on the official Rakuten Mobile website.

If you have concerns about Rakuten Mobile's coverage area or signal conditions, you can inquire through the official signal improvement survey request form .

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
若手社会人日記

Rakuten Group Employee, Age 25

Rakuten employee helping foreign residents sign up for Rakuten Mobile. Free support via Facebook DM.

View Profile

Related Articles

RELATED
Rakuten Economy

Unauthorized Access at Rakuten Drive: What Is Known From Reports, and What Users Should Check

Rakuten Drive announced unauthorized access on October 6, 2026. Stored data of 15,382 accounts was accessed. Here is what is reported, what is not stated, and what to check.

2026.10.06 · 3 min read
Switch to Rakuten Mobile, earn up to 14,000 points Free plan simulation, earn 100 points without signing up →
Sign Up Now →